How come nothing is destroyed?

Official forums for any game taking place in the universe on any platform. Awesome, dood!
Friendlysociopath
Peon
Peon

How come nothing is destroyed?

Postby Friendlysociopath » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:32 pm

Hi, new member, mostly because I have a simple question that has plagued me since I started playing Disgaea years ago and I'd like to ask other fans. Nobody else in my village plays the games so I wanted to ask people who knew what I was talking about.

"If demons in Disgaea can destroy planets and stars with such little effort, how come the planets are never destroyed during battle?"

I understand that would be silly from a gameplay perspective, but I don't see why they would emphasize how easily demons can planet-bust and star-bust and then barely ever have it happen during the games. I know it does happen a few times but it's rare and usually off-screen.
(Laharl saying he blew up stars, Overlord Babylon destroying planets on his way to see Zetta for example)

Is there an answer? Or is it just the Nipponverse just being illogical like it always is?

I happen to have a theory I wanted to run by Disgaea fans in this regard.

The Theory- "Overlord Rules"
To start us off on this attempt to plant some logic into insanity, we'll begin with the heart of the idea. "What is an Overlord?"

Put simply, the Overlord is the ruler of a specific Netherworld. As Laharl and Mao prove very thoroughly, the title is not one passed down by heredity. He/she/it attains this position by being the best and strongest demon they can be, usually proven by defeating anyone else going for the same job. Their position is also far from secure as they can be challenged by anyone at anytime for the title.